17th Annual South Carolina Singing in Memory of William Walker

Burwell Building, Wofford College, Spartanburg, SC
Saturday, 19 March 2011

The books used during the singing were The Sacred Harp (1991 Edition), The Christian Harmony (2010 Revision), and The Southern Harmony (1854 Edition).

Dr. Doyle Boggs of Wofford College welcomed the participants. Nathan Rees taught an introductory lesson covering four shapes and seven shapes.

The first session was from The Sacred Harp. Jonathon Smith brought the class to order leading 59. John Hollingsworth offered prayer. Leaders: Jane Spencer 33b; John Plunkett 128 (in memory of Henry Zitterouer); Harry Eskew 40; Michael Spencer 354t; Bill Burns 551; Brent Holcomb 460; Dorothy Lane 312b; John Hollingsworth 164; Ken George 569b; Shannon Primm 129 (in memory of those who recently lost their lives in the Japanese disaster); Nathan Rees 48t; Steve Walker 107; Mary Baumeister 569t; Diane Eskenasy 155; Phillip Perrin 35; Roger Keane 178; Jonathon Smith 57; Jane Spencer 500 (for Hugh McGraw and Charlene Wallace).


Jonathon Smith brought the class back with 131 (CH). A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman -- Jonathon Smith; Vice Chairman -- Nathan Rees; Secretary -- Jane Spencer; Arranging Committee -- John Plunkett.

The following session was from The Christian Harmony. Leaders: Jane Spencer 318 (CH); John Plunkett 386 (CH); Becky Walker 291 (CH); Harry Eskew 82 (CH); Michael Spencer 465t (CH); Bill Burns 157 (CH); Brent Holcomb (CH); Dorothy Lane 109 (CH) (in memory of William Paschal Mabry); John Hollingsworth 486t (CH); Ken George and Jeanne Marsh 316 (CH); Shannon Primm 327 (CH).


Jonathon Smith brough the class back with 70b (CH); Steve Walker 167t (CH); Mary Baumeister 546b (CH); Diane Eskenasy 51 (CH); Phillip Perrin 129 (CH); Roger Keane 142 (CH); Leon Carnell 143 (CH); Frances Carnell 214 (CH).

The following session was "leader's choice". Leaders: Jonathon Smith 145 (SoH); Jane Spencer 64 (CH); John Plunkett 311b (SoH); Harry Eskew 252 (SoH); Michael Spencer 41 (SoH); Phillip Perrin 358; Brent Holcomb 441; Dorothy Lane 235 (CH); John Hollingsworth 204t (CH) (in memory of Benny Rigdon); Shannon Primm 205 (CH); Nathan Rees 140 (SoH); Mary Baumeister 6 (SoH); Robert Kelley 47 (SoH); Phillip Perrin 8 (SoH); Roger Keane 67b (CH); Frances Carnell 485; Leon Carnell 163b; Roger Keane 236; Robert Kelley 168b (SoH). Jonathon Smith led 62 in closing and Nathan Rees offered prayer.

Chairman -- Jonathon Smith; Vice Chairman -- Nathan Rees; Secretary -- Jane Spencer

2011 Minutes listing
Christian Harmony HomePage
March 2011

If you see errors please contact the webmaster.

webmaster addy