Alabama State Christian Harmony Singing Convention
Union Missionary Baptist Church
Jefferson County, Alabama

September 25-26, 2010

Saturday Session

President Danny Creel opened the convention by leading 31t. Henry Guthery offered the morning prayer. Danny Creel led 54. Leaders: Tim Cook 75; Harvey Dockery 341; Lance Phillips 372; John Wright 142; Eugene Forbes 117; Bill Hollingsworth 197; Ed Thacker 163; Chris Wilhelm 307; SuNell Ellis 77; Dawson Dockery 214; Gary Smith 46t; Sandie Scott 70b (for Bob Meek); Ken Tate 176; Henry Johnson 76b.


Danny Creel called the class back with 186. A business session was held electing or appointing the following officers to serve: President - Danny Creel; Vice President - Bill Hogan; Secretary - Emily Creel Burleson; Arranging Committee - Carolyn Thompson; Finance Committee - Henry Guthery and Emily Creel Burleson; Locating Committee - Ken Tate and Bill Hogan. Leaders: Billy Thompson 91; Darrell Swarens 107; Mike Spencer 166; Luke Daniel 287; David Daniel 180; Karen Clark 189; Eddie Pierce 188t; Dylan Feezell 60; Yancey Jett 354t; Bea Carnathan 131; Nancy Hogan 149; Ann Jett 170; Sarah Beasley 238; Elsie Moon and Emily Creel Burleson 322; Eddie Mash 276; Bill Hogan 182; Henry Schuman 42; Mako Cook 284; Emily Creel Burleson 168b, 281 (for Harrison Creel); Joan Aldridge 280t.


Danny Creel led 258 to call the class back in session. Leaders: John Hollingsworth 19; Hollis Gentry 303; Henry Guthery 64; Wanda Capps 264; Cindy Tanner 54; Elizabeth Gentry 261t; Carolyn Thompson and Heather Charlton 148; Luke Daniel 165; Henry Schuman 172; Eddie Mash 198; Chris Wilhelm 305; Bill Hollingsworth 68; Darrell Swarens 81t; Billy Thompson 248; Mike Spencer 246; Karen Clark 133; Harvey Dockery 277; Sandie Scott and Eddie Mash 260t; David Daniel 85b; Joan Aldridge 179; Lance Phillips 74; Henry Guthery 39; Eugene Forbes 184; Henry Johnson 67b.

Announcements were made. Danny Creel and Helen Davidson led 303 as the closing song, followed by prayer offered by Henry Johnson.

Sunday Session

Danny Creel opened the day by singing 63t. The morning prayer was offered by Bill Hogan. Danny Creel then led 1. Leaders: Eugene Forbes 85b, 136; Bill Hollingsworth 219, 336t; Chris Wilhelm 152t, 152b; Sandie Scott 231b, 337b; Henry Guthery 120, 59b; Henry Johnson 105b, 80; Henry Schuman 42, 149; Emily Creel Burleson 14, 43; Cindy Tanner 54, 180; Jeff James 214, 51; Gary Smith 281b, 129.


Danny Creel called the class back with 82b (in memory of Edith Tate). Leaders: Ken Tate 109, 64; Caitlin James Graff 117, 303; Nancy Hogan 59t, 296; Harrison Creel 238, 93; Eddie Mash 69, 84; Sarah Beasley 204t, 352 (for Loretta Rigdon); Yancey Jett 110, 308; Bill Hogan 167, 316; Ann Jett 338b, 342; John Hollingsworth 36t, 188b; Ed Thacker 315, 240.


Danny Creel brought the class back by leading 255. Leaders: SuNell Ellis 343, 143; Seth Holloway 322, 367; Robert Dupree 86t, 121; Carolyn Thompson 332, 16; Eugene Forbes 187b. A Memorial Lesson was given by Nancy Hogan. She read the following names as the sick and shut-in: Bob Meek (KY), Ruth Wyers (AL), Vernell Forbes Amason (AL), Velton Chafin (AL) and Byron Burchett (TN). Bill Hogan led 298 in their honor. Nancy then read the names of those deceased: Billy Williams (AL), George Seiler (NY), Ray Tate (AR), Charlotte McCarn (AL), Cohen Chafin (AL), Lucille Delong (GA). Eddie Mash led 54 in their memory. John Hollingsworth closed the Memorial with prayer. Leaders: Wanda Capps 96; Henry Schuman 372; Chris Willhelm 9; Bill Hollingsworth 369; Henry Johnson 23b; Sandie Scott 130b; Robert Dupree 63b, 293; John Hollingsworth 261b; Caitlin James Graff 264; Jeff James 50; Bill Hogan 330. A business session was held to hear committee reports. The Finance Committee reported $315.00 taken in, a portion of which will be donated to the church. The Locating Committee announced that the 2011 session of the Alabama State Convention will be held again at Union Missionary Baptist Church, or at County Line Church, in the event that Union can not host. The business session was closed and announcements were made. Bill Hogan and Danny Creel led 11 as the closing song. Prayer was offered by Danny Creel.

Danny Creel - President; Bill Hogan - Vice President; Emily Creel Burleson - Secretary

2010 Minutes listing
Christian Harmony HomePage
October 2010