1st Lee Rogers Memorial Singing

Home of John and Elsie Hollingsworth
Ila, Madison County, Georgia
Saturday, 19 September 2009

The first annual session of the Lee Rogers Memorial Singing was called to order by Robert Kelley leading 23t from the Christian Harmony (Parris-Deason). John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer. Robert Kelley welcomed the singers and appointed John Hollingsworth and Judy Mincey to the memorial committee and Jane Spencer to the arranging committee. Leaders: Michael Spencer 163t; Shannon Primm 27t; John Hollingsworth 51; Mildred Chandler 131; Billy Hollingsworth 56t; Sue Bunch 142; Eddie Mash 54; Lela Crowder 44b; Dan Huger 55b (in memory of J. B. Parker); Tony Hammock 143 (in memory of his grandmother); Winston Stephens 171; John Plunkett 205; Karen Clark 189; Gaylon Powell 336t; Alexander Garden - Holy Hill (an original tune); Morgan Bunch 64; and Jackie Elsner 117. In a brief business session, the current officers were re-elected: Robert Kelley, chairman; Michael Spencer, vice-chairman; and Shannon Primm, secretary.


Michael Spencer led 361 to call the class back to order. Leaders: Mary Baumeister 130t (for Ben Wiley); Don Clark 253 (for Lee Rogers and Bertha Deason); Nathan Rees 227; Darlene Reynolds 291; and Andy Morse 372.

The Memorial Lesson: John Hollingsworth shared some personal comments about Lee Rogers and Judy Mincey led 85b for Lee Rogers, John Etheridge, Paul King, Jimmy Denney, Frank Hataway, Ophelia Matthews, Dick Steil, Dutch Owen, Elder Gerald Hand, Adele Reed, and folksinger Mary Travers, all deceased; and Rodney Willard, Henry Vickers, Marsha Hedrick, Benny Walls, and Wanda Talley, all sick or shut in.


Robert Kelley called the class back to order leading 42. Leaders: Rachel Rudi 145b; Jane Spencer 172; Chris Wilhelm 305; Mike Spencer 163b; Shannon Primm 276; John Hollingsworth 369; Mildred Chandler 89; Billy Hollingsworth - Macedonia (an original tune); Sue Bunch 221t; Eddie Mash 364; Lela Crowder 128t; Dan Huger 303; Tony Hammock 187 for Wanda Talley; Winston Stephens 67b; and John Plunkett 263.


To reconvene the class, Robert Kelley led 123. Leaders: Karen Clark 214; Gaylon Powell 230; Alexander Garden 73b; Morgan Bunch 43; Don Clark 121t; Mary Baumeister 66b; Nathan Rees 316; Rachel Rudi 88; Andy Morse 41b; Jackie Elsner 87; Jane Spencer 74 (for Jonathon Smith); and Judy Mincey 280t.

After announcements, in a brief business session, the class decided to sing from the new Christian Harmony edition next year, if available; if not the Deason-Parris edition. Robert Kelley led 222b to close; John Hollingsworth offered the closing prayer. The class reconvened on the front porch for homemade ice cream.

Chairman, Robert Kelley; Vice Chairman, Michael Spencer; Secretary, Shannon Primm

2009 Minutes listing
Christian Harmony HomePage

October 2009